ROJECT #7: Personal Research Project

In project7 we will develop a personal interest to find the interaction meaning behind it.To do this the first things we do is to create a list of things that ‘bug’ us.

“ Bug List ”  

Why do I have so many stuffs?

Why there are always so many options in our life?

Why people lie?

How to Recycle trash?

Why do humans rely on technology?

Why do I always check my phone?

Why tasty food are always bad for health?

Why people waste food?

How to improve critical thinking?

How to fall in love with school?

How do make arts freely in academic rabbit hole?

How to make every day playful?

How to find balance in life?

How can I manage time better?

Why do I feel myself futile?

What’s the meaning of life?

Why do I feel tired when I start go to school?

How to connect with people?

My pencil case is too full.

why do people need sleep?

There are too many ants in my room.

Why do I get acnes?

Why am I loosing hair?

Why do we need so many cards?

Why do we need to carry umbrella?

Why signal services are always bad in some area?

Why is there so many browsers on a computer?

Why my shoes are wet?

Why foods are not free?

Why do we need currency?

Why do we need to critic people’s works?

How to value their works?

My desktop is too messy.

Too many screenshots,photos in my phone.

Why airdrop doesn’t work sometime?

Why do we have to take ID photo in a shop?

Why do we waste so many paper?

Step 2 is find one question that I want to work with.I picked the question-

Why do we carry umbrella?

The reason why I chose this is because I always see people carry umbrellas even though is not raining or just tiny of rain.Personally,I don’t like to carry umbrella ,I enjoyed walking in the rain and its free to walk around like spinning dancing in the rain.I did research on the use of umbrella and when it was first invented.

Formulate Research Question-

People won’t get wet with umbrella,and carry it with hands are easy to control where it go,so it aviod hit people.

Article- The Reason Asians Carry Umbrellas In The Sun

What I learnt     

1. What’s It is designed to protect a person against rain or sunlight. The word “umbrella” typically refers to a device used for protection from rain. The word parasol usually refers to an item designed to protect from the sun. Often the difference is the material used for the canopy; some parasols are not waterproof.

2. Umbrella for sun protection

There is evidence of umbrellas in the ancient art and artifacts of Egypt, Assyria, Greece, and China. These ancient umbrellas or parasols were first designed to provide shade from the sun.

3.Invention of umbrella

The basic umbrella was invented more than 4,000 years ago. The word “umbrella” comes from the Latin root word “umbra,” meaning shade or shadow. Starting in the 16th century the umbrella became popular in the western world, especially in the rainy climates of northern Europe. At first, it was considered only an accessory suitable for women. Then the Persian traveler and writer Jonas Hanway (1712-86) carried and used an umbrella publicly in England for 30 years. He popularized umbrella use among men. English gentleman often referred to their umbrellas as a “Hanway.” Another fun fact: Umbrellas have also been crafted into hats as early as 1880 and at least as recently as 1987.

Modern Times

In 1928, Hans Haupt invented the pocket umbrella. In Vienna, she was a student studying sculpture when she developed a prototype for an improved compact foldable umbrella for which she received a patent in September 1929. The umbrella was called “Flirt” and was made by an Austrian company. In Germany, the small foldable umbrellas were made by the company “Knirps,” which became a synonym in the German language for small foldable umbrellas in general.

In 1969, Bradford E Phillips, the owner of Totes Incorporated of Loveland, Ohio obtained a patent for his “working folding umbrella.”


Leave a comment